This is the "Home" page of the "ANTH 220 Doing Ethnography: Music & Sound" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research & How-to Guides

ANTH 220 Doing Ethnography: Music & Sound  

Last Updated: Mar 29, 2016 URL: http://libguides.bard.edu/anth220 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Introduction

Welcome to Stevenson Library's research guide for the class "Doing Ethnography: Music and Sound. This guide provides a starting point for research in this subject area. It covers print and online sources as well as supplemental information to aid your research. If you need help using any of these resources or have other research questions, please ask a librarian

Most research in anthropology and ethnomusicology will include journal articles, working papers, and material from books. While searching for these different components might seem confusing at first, a few simple tips can make the process a lot easier.

Articles from Journals

When searching for articles: If you have the citation, check to see if Bard subscribes to the journal in which the article appeared by opening the “Journals” tab on the Library Main Page. Enter the name of the journal there and you will see if you have access to the issue you need. If we do not subscribe to the journal you are looking for you can then request a scanned copy of the article you need by using ILLIAD, our rapid interlibrary loan system.

If you are searching for articles on a particular topic, the best way is to choose one of the databases on anthropology we subscribe to. Try Anthropology Plus, or AnthroSource, first. Go to the “Databases” tab on the Library Main Page and choose the Database you want. You can search by author, by key word, by date, by topic, and more. Each database also has a “help” key within it that will offer ways to narrow or expand your search. Many of the articles that your search finds will have an automatic link to full text.  (Some may offer a choice of HTML or PDF – choose PDF when searching in anthropology: the charts and tables are much clearer. This is true for all social sciences and hard science articles.) If you are not offered an automatic link to full text, just search for the article following the path provided above.

Working Papers

These are articles that have not yet gone out for peer-review.  As they have not yet undergone the rewrite process, they will likely be a bit less polished but more contemporary.  They are fine to use as references in papers.  The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is the best source for these.  While the SSRN search engine is not as detailed as those of Anthropology Plus, or AnthroSource, it is very easy to use and should give you good results.

Books

When browsing in the Stevenson Library for books in anthropology, the main thing to remember is that the Library of Congress Classification System, which we and all major academic libraries use, puts anthropology under the heading of GN 1–GN 890. Subdivisions of anthropology are within that range.  For example, GN 51-59 has books on anthropometry, GN 281-289 covers evolution, GN 397-397.7 is applied anthropology, GN 192-495.2 is political anthropology, and GN 700-890 is prehistoric archaeology.  For ethnomusicology, consult books with call numbers starting with ML3798. 

Need help with your research?

Profile Image
Call Betsy Cawley
Contact Info
845-758-7064
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip