The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports advanced research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars the primary source material critical to those disciplines.
CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Most materials acquired are from outside the United States, and many are from five “emerging” regions of the world: Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Latin America.
CRL provides researchers with liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery. CRL loan and electronic delivery are designed to support major research projects, such as the production of scholarly monographs and studies, the writing of dissertations, and seminars at the graduate and advanced undergraduate levels.
Stevenson Library has joined CRL thanks to the generosity of the Jamie Bernard Foundation.
For more information, please see the CRL website.
CRL holds approximately five million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
AMERICAN PERIODICALS: North American special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and other historically significant titles of the mid-nineteenth to early twentieth centuries, prioritized for preservation.
CHINESE PAMPHLETS: POLITICAL COMMUNICATION AND MASS EDUCATION: Pamphlets, picture books, and other propaganda issued during the early years of the People’s Republic between 1947 and 1954
DIGITAL SOUTH ASIA LIBRARY (DSAL): The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia, including books and journals, full-text dictionaries, bibliographies, images, maps, and statistical information from the colonial period through the present.
For more CRL Digital Collections, please see the CRL website.
ARCHIVES: Millions of pages of documents, primarily from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) and the National Archive of the United Kingdom, in addition to many special collections of archival and primary source material such as the 100,000-plus-page archive of Cambodia's notorious Khmer Rouge regime
GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS: Foreign Government Documents -- several hundred thousand volumes of publications from the government agencies of more than 100 countries, including more than 1,750 official gazettes. U. S. State Government Documents -- more than a half million volumes of deposited and purchased monographic and serial publications of the U. S. state government agencies and legislatures from the earliest period through 1950, including financial reports and research studies.
BOOKS: More than 500,000 monographs in all formats and subject areas.
PERIODICALS: 66,500 serials, including a large collection of U.S. trade and industrial journals from the late 19th century through the mid-2oth century; journals on science, medicine, technology, agriculture, and textiles in South, East, and Southeast Asia; and journals from the Russian Academy of Science.
THE LINDA HALL LIBRARY: Provides access to the combined CRL and Linda Hall science, technology, and engineering (STE) print serials. These current and back issues of over 50,000 journal titles acquired and maintained by CRL and Linda Hall will be made available electronically through on-demand digitization through Illiad.
- College and University Catalogs
- Primary and Secondary Textbooks
- Railroad Publications
- Curriculum Guides
- Foreign Central Bank Publications
CRL actively collects in the following areas:
- Foreign-language science and technology periodicals, including titles from the Russian Academy of Sciences
- South Asian serials acquired through the Library of Congress South Asia Cooperative Acquisitions Program (SACAP)
- Southeast Asian serials acquired through the Library of CongressCooperative Acquisitions Program for Southeast Asia (CAP-SEA)
NEWSPAPERS: CRL holds approximately 10,000 titles from countries in all world regions, and from every state in the U.S., including more than 1,800 U.S. ethnic and African American papers. We currently subscribe to more than 300 newspapers from 96 countries and to 36 U.S. ethnic press papers.
CRL also microfilms current issues of selected foreign newspapers on an ongoing basis, and the back files of important foreign newspapers identified through collaborative programs like the Area Microform Projects and the International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON).
- Sets in literature, art, theater, music, science, and other fields, which now number over 300 in CRL’s collection, as approved by the membership through the purchase proposal program and the shared purchase program
- Continuing major microform sets, such as the OmniSys World Literature (OWL) Collection
- South Asian and Southeast Asian research titles reformatted to microfiche by the LC Field Offices in New Delhi and Jakarta as part of the Library of Congress Cooperative Acquisitions Programs
- Titles received on exchange from the Russian Academy of Sciences
- Unique publications from South and Southeast Asia produced by governmental and nongovernmental organizations in those regions.
AREA STUDIES: CRL supports collaborative programs that identify, acquire, preserve, and makes accessible primary source collections from all regions of the world. Six projects focused on area studies materials collect valuable resources fromAfrica, Eastern Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, South Asia, andSoutheast Asia. CRL also actively acquires materials from East Asia, Western Europe, and other areas.
DOCTORAL DISSERTATIONS: CRL acquires about 5,000 non-U.S., non-Canadian doctoral dissertations a year to add to its 800,000+ collection of dissertations. Acquisitions are primarily through the demand purchase program for dissertations and dissertations fromexchange partners.
FOREIGN DOCUMENTS: CRL holds several hundred thousand volumes of publications from government agencies of more than 100 countries. These include a large collection of official gazettes. CRL receives limited government documents in original format and microfiche for South and Southeast Asia on an ongoing basis. CRL frequently augments its historical collections of original format government documents with microform collections acquired through its Purchase Proposal program and additions to Area Microform Project holdings.