This is the "Research at Bard" page of the "U.S. Foreign Policy Summer Institute" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research & How-to Guides

U.S. Foreign Policy Summer Institute  

Last Updated: Jun 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.bard.edu/us-foreign-policy-summer-institute Print Guide RSS Updates

Research at Bard Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

America: History and LIfe -- A comprehensive bibliographic database with abstracts that cover the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This database covers over 2000 journals including all English language historical journals, from 1964 to the present.

Cambridge Histories Online -- Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to around 196,000 pages of unrivalled scholarship in 15 different academic disciplines including: American, British, economic, regional and warfare histories, theater and performing arts, religious studies, political and social theory, philosophy, music, literary studies, language and linguistics, history of science, history of the book and general history.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) -- A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month, as are conference proceedings, policy briefs and economic indicators.

ICPSR (the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)  -- Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. May be browsed by geographic region.

JSTOR -- A backfile of core journals in the arts and sciences, JSTOR contains millions of pages in PDF format searchable through JSTOR itself or through the appropriate subject indexes.

LexisNexis Academic -- Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

Military & Government Collection -- Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

Project MUSE -- With well over 100 journals in full-text, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others, searchable through Project Muse itself, or through the appropriate subject indexes.

Websites

American Diplomacy -- From the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill,  thoughtful articles on international issues, to support efforts to strengthen the American Foreign Service, and to promote understanding of the challenges of diplomatic life abroad through the memoirs of U.S. Foreign Service personnel and their families. Among our contributors are American diplomats, both active and retired, as well as distinguished academicians.

The Avalon Project -- Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Includes not only static text but links to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

Council on Foreign Relations -- An independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.

Foreign Policy of the United States -- From the White House website

Foreign Relations of the United States -- The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office. This is an incomplete run from 1861-1960 with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed.

International Relations and Security Network -- One of the world’s leading open access information services for both professionals and students who focus on international relations and security studies.

US Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

US House Foreign Affairs Committee

Need help with your research?

Profile Image
Call Betsy Cawley
Contact Info
845-758-7064
Send Email

Finding Books

To search for books in our library go to our catalog, Felix.

Useful Library of Congress subject headings:

  • foreign relations administration of the united states
  • foreign relations [name of country]
  • international relations
  • united states foreign relations [name of country]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip